Wiltshire Museum Events



Bush Barrow Small Lozenge


Oexmann Art Award Exhibition
Monday, 28 October, 2013

Oexmann Art Award Exhibition

This year’s exhibition marks the thirteenth biennial Oexmann Art Award. This prestigious competition has been running since 1988, and is one of Wiltshire’s art community’s most important events. Selected by our panel of judges, the winning and exhibited entries were chosen from over 150 pieces of artwork in the adult categories, and 137 in the young person’s categories.

The Oexmann Art Award is held in memory of the late Theophila Joan Oexmann (née Copland-Griffiths), an artist raised in Potterne. The award was endowed by her husband, Richard Oexmann, in recognition for her love of this county’s artistic heritage.
Our judges this year were noted local artists Helen Stanford, David Inshaw and Mitch Griffiths.

This year we saw an overwhelming number of entries, with 158 in the adult category, and 139 spread among the Young Persons’ category. As such, our panel of judges, after much deliberation have selected our prize winners, who are:

General Entry:
First Prize: Jim Dowton – Alan Bennett (Playwright, Actor, Author)
Second Prize: Malcolm Thomas Humphrey - ‘Twas By The Shores Of Patterdale
Drawing Prize: Alan Padwick OBE – Gilda
Purchase Prize: Andrew Phillip Taylor – Corn Stooks at Hillcott

Young Persons, 6-11:
First Prize: Ashton Hibbert - Portrait
Second Prize: Maddie Watson – Portrait
Third Prize: Theo Adams - Portrait

Young Person’s, 12-18
First Prize: Isabella Bradley-Leach – Monty
Second Prize: Sophie Soar – Girl
Third Prize: Emily Burke – Wiltshire Owls

Cost:   Included in standard admission
<< Back


Wiltshire Museum
41 Long Street, Devizes, Wiltshire, SN10 1NS
Telephone: 01380 727369
Email: hello@wiltshiremuseum.org.uk

Wiltshire Archaeological and Natural History Society
Company Limited by Guarantee Registered in England no. 3885649. Registered Charity No. 1080096