Open Monday-Saturday, 10am-5pm.

Oexmann Art Award Exhibition 2019

Overall Winner: Stephen Ellis - Gower

On Wednesday 9th October, our three Oexmann Art Competition judges came to the museum to make some very difficult decisions. After much deliberation, we are pleased to announce this year’s Oexmann Art Award Winners!

Congratulations to all who have won prizes or have been highly commended for their artwork. The judges have also chosen nearly 60 other adult entries to be featured in the exhibition alongside all of the art entered by young people. The exhibition opens to the public on 28 October 2019 and everyone who entered will be receiving an invitation to the opening ceremony (27 October 2019) as well as a complimentary ticket to the exhibition in the post very soon.

Thank you so much to everyone who entered this year, it’s wonderful to see how much Wiltshire artists have to offer. If your work unfortunately was not selected for prizes or exhibition then we would ask you to please come and collect your art from the museum between Wednesday 16 and Saturday 19 October. Please bring along your picture receipt. We’re sorry your work didn’t make it this year, but would love to see you again in two years’ time.

Prize Winners from Adult Category:

1st Prize
 Stephen Ellis  -  Gower
2nd Prize
Denise Clark  -  Snail and Cat
Drawing Prize
Julia Roberts  -  Great Bustard
Purchase Prize
Imogen Rees  -  Avebury Stone

Prize Winners from Under-18 Category:

1st Prize 6 - 11
Arthur James Barlow  -  Durdle Door
1st Prize 12 – 18
Fabian Avis  -  Formation
2nd Prize 6 – 11
Joshua Denton  -  Monkey Orb
2nd Prize 12 – 18
Nicole Medin  -  Unity
3D Prize
Leo Hazelden  -  Clay Mask

Highly Commended Adult Entries:

Paul Oakley     -     Bishops Cannings – The Passing Storm
Stephen Bull     -     Cathedral at Night
Denise Clark     -     Bull Terrier
Susan Kirkman     -     Downland Landscape
Jennie Gilling     -     Tarn
Yvonne Auld     -     Cleveland House by the Canal
April Belinda Barlow     -     Nice Pair
Cathy Pearce     -     November 5th!
Cathy Pearce     -     Sunset on Snow Saturday
Tim Heath     -     River Walk: Sloping Field
David Thomas Scully     -     Stonehenge
Karen Attfield     -     ‘Bella’ the Frenchie
Jennie Quigley     -     Animal or Vegetable
John Harris     -     First Light, Marlborough Downs
Caroline Andrew     -     Hare

Highly Commended Under-18 Entries:

Paige Vernon     -     Rosie
Lilly Rose     -     Seaside
Oscar van Alstede     -     Mini
Jasmine Gifford     -     The Ocean Sea
Amelia Rushent     -     Multicoloured Unicorn
Erin Alice Packer     -     Pumpkin Explosion
Cecily Suroweic     -     Greek Temple
Amelie Eaton     -     Bear Cub’s Big Hat
Oscar Vince     -     The Nature Scene
Grace Horgan     -     Florence the Flower Fairy
Ralph Candy     -     Farmers Weekly Tractor
Michelle Gudiak     -     Autumn Harvest
Zack Potts     -     Moon over Rainforest
‘Elder’ Class from Five Lanes Primary School

Leila Salaman     -     Meadow vase
Freya Webb     -     Peace
Isabel Grace Peel     -     Converse
Sophie Vowles     -     Features
Georgina Rees     -     Grancha
Emily Hannah Cooper     -     Perspective
Megan Grobler     -     Gateway
Charlotte Mellors     -     Skull
Naia Searight     -     Mountain View
Emily Rees     -     Trevane

Other adult entries chosen for exhibition:

Mrs P. S. Aikenhead   From Westpoint Is. To Carcass Is. - Falklands

Karen Attfield             Allotment Man

Sue Bardwell               Face No.3

Christine Bowyer       The Long Walk Home

Peter Charles Brown  Midnight Magic

Stephen Bull                Hat Shop

Jim Dowton                Winston Churchill

Jane Eaton                   Calligraphy Trees. Dancing light, tender breeze, nothing gold can stay.

Jane Eaton                   Celebrating Hegemone

Jane Eaton                   Ecofashionart (The Russian Girl)

Maggie Errington         Fruits of the Earth

Maggie Errington         Lily Pads

Kathryn Flack              Storm of Emotions

Valerie Gibbons          Dark Dandy

Jill Goatman                Hare Watch

John Harris                  Bounce

Tim Heath                   After Hitchens' 'Woolbeding Water'

Marie Hillcoat             Shaking

Ginette Hughes          Bridge over Stream, Derbyshire Dales

Carole Ann Ingram     Penny for Them

Jan Knight                    Pewsey Vale IV - Edition 3 of 5

Christine Marshall      Buenos Aires

Anne Martin Pyne       Graphein II

Suzy Miles                   Blue Cow

Suzy Miles                   Galilean Fishing Boat

Philippa Morgan          Bark 2, Urchfont Manor, July 2018

Alan Overton              Autumn at Westonbirt

Jenny Papé                   Horizon

Imogen Rees               Headland

David M. Robinson     Taking Observations

Helen Sheppard          Punch and Judy, Weymouth

Kamil Sikora                Belfry

Annette Smith             The Black Grouse (Silent Spring Series)

Mark Elliott Smith       Sonnet, In Red and Black 2

Joanne Spencer           Salisbury Cathedral

Frederick J.Taylor       Ageless Beauty - Dehli, India

Judy Thomson             Downs Dawn

Julia F. C. Vaughan      Winter Fields 2


Who were the Judges?

Mitch Griffiths: Originally from Warwickshire, Mitch Griffiths has been a judge of the Oexmann Art Award Competition for several years. The BP Portrait Award winner has had several exhibitions at the Halcyon Gallery in London, including Reality (2006) which looked at brands and commercialism. He examines the contemporary world in an exceptionally realist style.

James Saxton: After studying in England and the USA, James Saxton has taught art in the UK and the Caribbean. He has taken a role in the development of design education in the UK and won various awards including a first prize drawing at Hackney Council. Mr Saxton continues to exhibit at local festivals and has had work exhibited in Wiltshire, France, Canada, and the Cayman Islands.

Vincent Stokes: Former Head of Art at Marlborough College, Vincent Stokes works frequently with collages and is inspired by Bicci di Lorenzo’s ‘St Nicholas of Bari Banishing the Storm’. He has exhibited as a part of the Marlborough Open Studios this year with some works based on abandoned buildings and theatres.



Please contact Heather Ault, Competition Manager with any queries at: T: 01380 727369



Overall 1st Prize: Stephen Ellis - Gower

Overall 2nd Prize: Denise Clark - Snail and Cat

6 - 11 Winner: Arthur James Barlow - Durdle Door

12 - 18 Winner: Fabian Avis - Formation

Drawing Prize: Julia Roberts - Great Bustard

Purchase Prize: Imogen Rees - Avebury Stone

Skip to content