The Team

Introducing our staff, trustees and Patrons. Not forgetting our fantastic team of volunteers!



Chair:  Martin Nye, MA (Cantab)

Deputy Chair:  Alison Hems, BA, PhD, AMA, FRSA

Hon. Treasurer:  Chris Kelly, Bsc, FCA, FloD

Elected Trustees:

  • Richard Cardiff
  • Claire Dobbin
  • Nicola Harris
  • Ruth Kerr
  • Simon Kerry
  • Katie Marsden
  • Lachlan Robertson, MA, BSc (Hons)

Nominated Trustees:

  • Chris Gay, Devizes Town Council
  • Vacant, Wiltshire Council
  • Vacant, Wiltshire Council

As at November 2023


  • J B Bush, CVO, OBE, CSt.J, JP

  • Dr Phil Harding, DUniv, FSA, MIFA

  • David Inshaw

  • Mrs S R Troughton, CSt. J


Our team of over 120 dedicated volunteers is growing and supports us in everything we do.
Interested in joining our team? Visit our volunteering page for the latest opportunities.

Winners of the Marsh Award 2015 Regional Award for the South West of England

In September 2015, our team of Archive & Library Volunteers had their hard work recognised when they became the regional winners of the Marsh Award for the South West of England.

This exciting award recognises the hugely valuable contribution that volunteer make in helping museums engage with their visitors and in 2015 over 50 museums and galleries from around the UK entered. Four of our volunteers are pictured at the Award ceremony at the British Museum with our Director.


Copyright: Wiltshire Archaeological and Natural History Society